Home Page > Administration > Groups

Groups

Overview

OpenAsset contains a wide range of flexible permissions to enable you to connect users to relevant content. You may have some groups of users who need to be able to upload files, while other groups just need to be able to access and use the images in OpenAsset. As an administrator, you have the ability to configure OpenAsset for the various users and groups of users in your company.

 

OpenAsset "Groups" define what features users in different groups can access. Users are assigned to different groups and based on the group permissions they will have access to all or part of OpenAsset.

Groups

OpenAsset "Groups" define what features users in different groups can access. Users are assigned to different groups and based on the group permissions they will have access to all or part of OpenAsset. For example, all project and reference images may be available to marketing or graphics teams but only project images for all other users.

Create

To create a new group, click on the "Create New Group" button. Enter the name of the new group in the box and click "Save". 
 

Groups_Create.jpg

Delete

To permanently delete the group click the check box next to the group name and then click the "Delete" button in the ribbon. Please note that this cannot be undone. 

Clone

You can clone groups to quickly create groups with permissions that mirror an already existing group. 
Groups_Clone.jpg

Edit

Information on a group can be edited. To edit a group, click on "Edit" next to the group name. 

From this page we can various permissions. OpenAsset contains a wide range of flexible permissions to enable you to give users access to the images they need. 

 

AXO278_Manage_Security_Groups2.png

 

General Permissions

General permissions in OpenAsset control access to the main features. To configure general permissions click "General Permissions". The following general permissions can be edited for each group.

Basic

General:
  • Search and browse
  • User preferences
  • AssetBar
  • Uploader
  • Support
  • Favourite projects

Homepage:

  • View widgets
  • Add widgets
  • Edit widgets

Document Creation:

  • Show on left hand menu
  • Zip
  • Contact sheet
  • Web download
  • Download request

Image size list:

  • View in browser
  • Print
  • Download
  • AssetBar / drag & drop
  • Copy path

Albums:

  • Show on left hand menu
  • Share with users
  • Share with groups
  • Share with everyone
  • Create company albums

Intermediate

General:

  • Keywords
  • Associate albums to projects
  • Manage users albums
  • Manage company albums
  • Create news items
  • Approve download requests
  • Themes
  • Charts
  • Edit additional image field values

Projects:

  • Create projects and edit code, name and keywords
  • Edit additional project field values
  • Choose hero image for projects
  • Delete projects

Advanced

  • Image processing
  • Image replacement
  • Users and groups
  • LDAP / Active Directory & single sign-on
  • System admin
  • Categories
  • Image sizes

 

Category Permissions

The category permissions editor allows you to control who has access to images. This is very useful when using sensitive or confidential material that a particular user or group need access to, but needs to remain hidden from all other users.
 
This can be controlled according to:
  • Category
  • Access level
  • Type of access (view, add, edit & delete)
 
To configure category permissions click "Category Permissions". The following table will appear. Tick the appropriate boxes to assign group permissions within different categories:
 
 
AXO278_Manage_Security_Groups3.png
 
 
Think carefully about who you give editing & deletion access to. Only those who are uploading and cataloguing images should be given these permissions. Click "Save Changes" when you are finished. 
 

Project Permissions

If you have set up OpenAsset to block users from seeing "Un-approved" red / confidential images, here is an example scenario to demonstrate how this feature might be used:
 
Most users can usually only see images with a green or amber access level on your projects. However, you want to allow one particular user to see red / confidential images on 3 projects they are working on. You can use the project permissions feature to extend their privileges to see red / confidential images on just those three projects.
 

Create Project Permissions

If the users you want to allow project permissions for are not currently in a group, create a group, "confidential" for example and add the users you want into that group to allow access to a particular project or projects. 
 
Once you have created your group and added the users into that group, click on "Edit" next to that group. This will take you to the "Group Preferences" screen. Click on "Project permissions". Enter the project you want to set project permissions for and click "Save."
 
Tick the "View Un-approved" box and click "Save". This will now allow the "confidential" group to view "Un-approved" images. You can change this at any time and can add as many individual project permissions as you need for a group.
 

Image Size Permissions

"Image Size" permissions controls which users can access and download different image sizes. To configure image size permissions click "Image size permissions".

This will bring you to a new screen. Click on "New Permission".

 

AXO278_Manage_Security_Groups4.png

 
To give everyone in the group access to all images sizes select "All image sizes". If you wish to give restricted access to images sizes for a group, select the first image size you will allow the group to have access to and click "Save", this will then open the window below.
 
At this time you can restrict the file formats available to groups. You may want to restrict people being able to download large tiff files for example and therefore only allow web view jpegs.
 
You need to create a "New Permission" for each file size and each image type where applicable. So if you wanted to allow someone to download 'original' pdfs and tiffs you would need to create an individual 'permission' for both.
 
Alternatively you can allow full access to all the images regardless of size or format by selecting "All image sizes" and "All formats" from the drop down menus. Click "Save" when you have finished.
 

Template Permissions

In this screen you can control which templates a group has access to. You can tick the box for "All Templates" or choose which templates the group can use.
 

Widget Permissions

You can control which widgets a group has access to. You can tick the box for "All widgets" or choose which widgets the group can use.
 

Assign Group Projects

Projects can be assigned to users and groups. This helps to steer users towards the images they need to use.
 
For example they can be assigned to all projects they are currently working on and then these will appear on the "My Projects” page or the “My Projects” widget.
 
To assign a project to a group, click on "Groups" on the left hand menu and then click "Edit" next to the group you want to assign to. This will bring up a screen where you can add the project required.

To delete an assigned project, click on "Groups" in the left hand menu. Click "Edit" next to the group that you need to delete an assigned project for, this opens a new screen, click on "Assigned Projects".

This will bring you to a new screen which will show a list of assigned projects. To delete an assigned project click on 'delete'. Clicking delete will only remove the assigned project from the group, it will not delete the project. Click "OK" if you want to go ahead and delete it.

 

Homepage

This screen allows you to add widgets to a group home page.

To add a widget to a group home page, click on "Add Widget" and select the widget you want from the drop down menu, and then click on add.

 

Default Preferences

Default preferences are very useful if you want to determine what information is shown and the order in which it appears. For example you may want to set the preferences to show all the latest images uploaded first or images of the highest rank when a user does a search.
 
 
AXO278_Manage_Security_Groups5.png
 
You can also choose what and where the image information will be. For instance you may want the project name and photographer listed on the image record and nothing else, or you may want to display the file size or copyright holder as well.
 
Click "Save Changes" to save your changes. You will then be returned to the edit groups page.
Last modified
06:39, 27 Apr 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.